Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background

AFL

Information

2019 CHAMPION SCHOOLS AFL

AFLSchoolsAmbassadors-Lockup-Blue-CMYK (2)

WAFC green

Who to Contact

Position Name School Email
 Coordinator Matt Baseden  
Office Contact Peter Smith peter.r.smith@education.wa.edu.au
 State Sporting Assoc. Rep. David Lindsay WAFC  dlindsay@wafc.com.au

 School Competitions

eagles cup
Eagles Cup CMYK rev 2010-   BHP Colour Logo - Principal Community Partner (2)
The EAGLES CUP is a primary interschool football competition for year 5 & 6 students. The competition uses modified rules to allow for maximum participation, enjoyment and skill development.

 

The EAGLES CUP involves schools of similar size and in close proximity to each other playing on a weekly basis in a round-robin competition.

 

The winning schools are rewarded for their success with an Eagles Cup Trophy presented to the school by a West Coast Eagles player during a school assembly.

 

Each WAFL district has a coordinator who organises and administrates the competition. These coordinators form an important part of the Primary Schools Football Advisory Council.

 

The competition is conducted in Term 2.

For participating in the competition schools will receive:
    • Eagles Cup match ball / certificates / posters
  • Eagles Cup Handbook
  • Eagles Cup trophy presented to each division winner (metro schools only) by a West Coast Eagles player/s  at a specially convened assembly
How do I get my school involved? Contact your WAFC Football Development Officer as per the list below 
Each WAFL district has a District Coordinator who organises and administrates the competition. These coordinators form an important part of the Primary Schools Football Advisory Council (PSFAC).
2019 EAGLES CUP DISTRICT COORDINATORS
District Name School Contact Number
Claremont Kris Shannon Community Development Officer 0433 669 519
East Perth Joe Barbaro Department of Education 9264 5871
East Fremantle Neale Johnson Oberthur Primary School 9332 3212
Peel Brett Crebert St Damien’s Catholic Primary School 9583 2500
Perth Chris Brown District Development Officer 0412 676 857
South Fremantle Gary Gough South Coogee Primary School 9494 8000
Subiaco John Lawniczak West Greenwood Primary School 9246 8700
Swan Districts Christian Tufilli District Development Officer 0423 989 582
West Perth Andrew O’Brien District Development Officer 0422 480 487

 

freo dockers cup
FD_CMYK_FREODOCKCUP
The Freo Dockers Cup is an interschool football competition for female students in years 5 & 6.  The competition is played either as a one day lightning carnival (organised by schools in their district and/or coordinated by their WAFC Football Development Officer) or round robin competition (minimum of 3-6 weeks). The special modified rules allow for maximum participation, enjoyment and skill development.

 

Every school that participates in the Freo Dockers Cup competition has the chance to play in a curtain raiser to a Fremantle Dockers home game at Domain Stadium.

For participating in the competition schools will receive:
    • Freo Dockers Cup match ball
    • Freo Dockers Cup awarded to each division winning school
  • FFC team posters & certificates for all participants
How do I get my school involved? Please note coordinators and schools should contact their WAFC Football Development Officer to express an interest in participating, volunteering to host or to organise umpire support. The District will endeavour to provide umpires but this may not be possible for all carnivals (see list below).

 

freo dockers shield
dockers shield
The West Australian Football Commission (WAFC) will continue to support & resource winter sports carnivals (conducted in divisions or regions as per athletics/swimming carnivals) where football is played via the Freo Dockers Shield.

 

Although the Freo Dockers Shield is targeted primarily towards males in upper primary, female participants are welcome.

If your school participates in a winter sports carnival in which football is played, we would appreciate contacting your WAFC Football Development Officer. In this way we can plan the year and prepare equipment and resources. If your school does not participate in a winter sports carnival and would like to, please contact your Football Development Officer and they will be able to assist in the organisation of one for your school.

guidelines:
  • Games are played under the AFL Junior Rules
  • Emphasis on enjoyment, participation and skill development
  • Freo Dockers Shield to be awarded to the school that accumulates the most points based on:
    Game:  Win (3 points) / Draw (2 points) / Loss (1 point)
    Behaviour: Score out of 3 (on and off the field)          
For participating in
the competition schools will receive:
  • Freo Dockers Shield will be awarded to each division winner
  • Participation certificates and posters for all participants
  • Freo Dockers Shield synthetic footballs
  • Umpire support. The district will endeavour to provide umpires but this may not be possible for all carnivals.
further information: Contact your WAFC Football Development Officer (see list below)
REGIONAL WAFC DEVELOPMENT OFFICERS
District Name Email Contact Number
Goldfields Gemma Harrison gharrison@wafc.com.au 0417 179 463
Great Southern Tom Moir tmoir@wafc.com.au 0428 428 440
Kimberley Michael Farmer michael.farmer@garnduwa.com.au 0407 658 698
Midlands Glen Collins gcollins@wafc.com.au 0417 920 817
Midwest Steve Broberg sbroberg@wafc.com.au 0429 914 220
Pilbara Vicki Agnew vagnew@wafc.com.au 0455 661 633
South West Glenn Omodei gomodei@wafc.com.au 0402 258 232
Wheatbelt Mitchell Harvey mharvey@wafc.com.au 0419 859 576

 

METROPOLITAN WAFC DEVELOPMENT OFFICERS
District Name Email Contact Number
Claremont Sam Cousens scousens@wafc.com.au 0438 838 768
Subiaco Matt De Barro mdebarro@wafc.com.au 0402 794 016
West Perth Graham Mills gmills@wafc.com.au 0409 084 483
East Perth Corey Ranger cranger@wafc.com.au 0430 868 512
Perth Chris Brown cbrown@wafc.com.au 0412 676 857
Swan Districts Christian Tufilli ctufilli@wafc.com.au 0430 115 441
Peel Elly Lambkin elambkin@wafc.com.au 0438 677 700
East Fremantle Daren Bell dbell@wafc.com.au 0438 952 487
South Fremantle Regan Atkinson ratkinson@wafc.com.au 0421 249 477

 

Nomination

 AFL Champion Schools Nomination

To nominate please click on the below link which will redirect you to the WAFC website

All nominations click HERE.

Results and History

Results and History

YEAR NO. OF TEAMS DIVISION SPORT COORDINATOR
2016 Boys  Peter Della – Vedova

 

Girls
2015 591 Boys  

Peter Della – Vedova

 

54 Girls