Ross Meadows Shield

Friday 1st September 2023

Perth Hockey Stadium hosted the Grand Final of the Ross Meadows Shield, where Shenton College took on holders Como Secondary College. Shenton had looked impressive in their qualifying tournament, and defeated Bunbury Cathedral Grammar School 3-0 to book their place in the final. Como had also looked impressive in their pool of the qualifying tournament, but almost came unstuck when they faced a tough Narrogin Senior High School team to make the final. Scores were locked at 1-1 with time running down, but a final attacking push with moments remaining saw Como score, taking them to the Grand Final.

The match started with a bang, with Shenton's Matts Bell scoring a field goal in the third minute! Eliah Strepini then doubled Shenton's lead midway through the second quarter. It was looking like it was going to be a 2-0 score line at half time, but a field goal in the final minute of the quarter by Dhairya Dave gave Como some momentum heading into the break.

Excitement reigned in the third quarter with Shenton going bang bang, scoring back-to-back goals within two minutes, the first to Rupert Miller-McDonald and the second to Lachlan Paton. Como weren't going to let this lie, and struck back with a penalty corner conversion in the 38th minute. Shenton's Robert Foreman then scored within a minute to regain their three-goal lead. Samuel Sywak converted Como's penalty corner moments later, and in the following minute Katie Wright took Shenton's lead back out to three goals with her penalty corner conversion. A six-goal quarter finished 6-3 in Shenton's favour.

Shenton could feel the Shield was theirs, and Eliah's second field goal of the day took their advantage out to four goals, before Max Nelson sealed the victory in the 52nd minute, converting from the penalty spot.

Shenton College claimed the Ross Meadows Shield in 2023 with an impressive 8-3 score line.

Goal Scorers: Matts Bell (SC), Eliah Sterpini x2 (SC), Dhairya Dave (CSC), Rupert Miller-McDonald (SC), Lachlan Paton (SC), Robert Foreman (SC), Samuel Sywak (CSC), Katie Wright (SC), Max Nelson (SC).

Trent Mitton Medal – North: Katie Wright (Shenton College)

Trent Mitton Medal – South: Bailey Perkins (Narrogin Senior High School)