Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background




Who to Contact

Position Name School Email
 Sport Coordinator  Andrew Boxsell Santa Clara PS
Office Contact Robyn Brierley
 Convenor    SSWA Office 
 Race Director Stuart Denton  Duncraig SHS  
 State Sporting Assoc. Rep    Triathlon WA

Champion School Competition


The Sun Smart Triathlon is an event for Primary School students

conducted by School Sport WA, in partnership with Triathlon WA.

Nomination Due

Thursday 26 October 2017


Teams Event – $36 per team [ subject to change dependent on nomination numbers ] 

Aquathlon – $5 per competitor

Invoices will  issued post event from the SSWA office. No payments will be accepted on race day


Friday 3 November 2017


9.30 – 10.00 – Inspection of bikes and helmets on entry to transition

10.00am – Race briefing

10.30am – Race start: A ,B, Girls, C, D Divisions

12.00pm – Aquathlon Boys and Girls Divisions

1.00pm (approx.) – Presentations

Venue Champion Lakes Regatta Centre

This is a team event with three competitors in each team.

Each member will complete one leg of the triathlon (swim, cycle, run).

Eligible students must be in Year 4 (&Under at the discretion of the school), Year 5 and Year 6.

Year 7 students must compete in the Secondary Schools Triathlon on Thursday 2nd November 2017.

information booklet

2017 Information Booklet Click HERE

Risk Management General Guidelines Click HERE

course maps & parking

Details are in the Information Booklet

Course maps are in the Information Booklet above

race numbers Click HERE for 2017 Race Numbers
Rules & General Information

How to fit and wear a Helmet

Schools may nominate any number of teams.

Competitors must attend the nominating primary school and be enrolled in years four, five or six 

Teams can be any mix of gender or year group.

Schools must enter their best team into Division A.

All teams with cyclists using a road/race bike must be in Division A

Approximate Distances

200m swim, 6km cycle, 2km run

Schools are advised to ensure that swimmers nominated can successfully complete a 300m swim.

Team Divisions

Five divisions (A, B, Girls, C, D) are offered for this event.

Division A is for the more elite teams and teams with cyclists on road/race bikes.

Divisions B, C and D are intended for teams to be entered according to team rankings.

Girls Division is for those who wish to compete in a team of 3 girls. Girls may still compete in the A,B,C or D Divisions in mixed teams but cannot participate in 2 races on the same day.

It would be appropriate to allocate, where possible, teams to compete in each division. Organisers reserve the right to allocate teams according to division numbers and race balance. 


This is a new individual event for 2017.  there will be a boys’ and a girls’ division.  Medallions will be awarded to the first 3 across the line in each division.

Distances are 200m swim and 2km run.



First, second and third placed teams in each division will receive a medallion (or similar).

Champion School

A Champion School award will be calculated according to the following criteria;

  • Schools must enter a minimum of five teams (regardless of division nominated)
  • At least one school team must compete in Division A.
  • Winning school calculated according to the lowest combined time for its five fastest teams. 


Triathlon Champion Schools Nomination

 Please complete the below nomination form by the due date. An invoice will be sent to all nominated schools in due course.


Thank you for choosing to be involved in a School Sport WA Champion Schools event.


Click HERE to nominate 

Results and History


Results and History


2016 109 Guildford Grammar School 2016 Results Andrew Boxsell - Santa Clara PS 
2015  132 Hale Junior School 2015 Results
2015 Splits
2014 92 Scotch College 2014 Results Daryl Mansfield – South Perth PS
2013 147  Scotch College 2013 Results  
2012 144  Scotch College/Subiaco PS 2012 Results  
2011 138   Hale Junior School  2011 Results  
2010     2010 Results Katy Duffield – Atwell PS
2009 218  Hale Junior School 2009 Results Jamie Adair – Connolly PS
2008 238  Hale Junior School 2008 Results Jamie Adair – Connolly PS
2007 224  Trinity College 2007 Results Shaun Edwards – West Greenwood PS
2006 200  Trinity College 2006 Results Darryl Bell – Sorrento PS
2005 183  Dalkeith PS 2005 Results Darryl Bell – Sorrento PS 
2004 168  Sorrento PS 2004 Results Darryl Bell – Sorrento PS 
2003 138  Sorrento PS 2003 Results Darryl Bell – Sorrento PS 
2002 93 Novice – Bateman PS 2002 Results Darryl Bell – Sorrento PS
Open – Sorrento PS